Alumni Association

What we do

In addition to helping shape alumni programming and community development, our board advises the school on a variety of issues.

Our mission

Our mission is to support the school in its continued pursuit of excellence by enhancing the academic experience for students and strengthening relationships with alumni by:

  • Advising the dean on developments in the field that can help shape curriculum.
  • Creating and providing effective programming for alumni, including awards programs.
  • Mentoring students and assisting the school’s recruitment efforts.
  • Furthering the social and charitable interests of the school and its graduates.

How to join

The first step is to join the IU Alumni Association. If you received 15 credit hours from The Media School or one of its predecessors, you are automatically eligible for membership to our organization after you pay your IUAA dues.

To become a member of the board, you must be nominated.

Nominate yourself or someone else for board membership

Meet the board

Millicent R. Martin Emery, BAJ’00, Past President
Writer, designer and assistant editor, Western Wayne News
Richmond, Indiana
Brian Talbot, BA’85, President 
CEO, Tandem Games

Jared Solow, BA’11, Vice President
Product marketing manager, Effectv, a Comcast Company

Greg Sorvig, BA’06, Secretary/Treasurer
Artistic director, Heartland Film

Deanna Allbrittin, BAJ'13
Evening Anchor, WRIC 8News
Richmond, Virginia
Rebecca Banks, BA'16
Production coordinator, Disney Feature Animation, Project Untitled
Los Angeles
Del Brinkman, MA’63, PhD’71
Dean emeritus, University of Kansas School of Journalism
Dean emeritus, University of Colorado School of Journalism
Bloomington, Indiana
Michele DeSelms, BA’89
Television host/voiceover talent
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Mary Martha Dietz, BA’52
Publicity director, Hilton Hotels (retired)
Bloomington, Indiana
Zach Dobson, BAJ’04
Carmel, Indiana
Matt Dollinger, BAJ'10
Senior editor, The Ringer
Austin Francalancia, BA'09
Independent film producer
Los Angeles
Araceli Gomez-Aldana, BAJ'13
Producer and reporter, WBEZ

Emily Harrison, BA’01 (ex-officio)
Director of development and alumni relations, The Media School
Bloomington, Indiana
Marla Hudnall, BA’00
Second assistant director, SEAL Team
Los Angeles
Elise Jaffe, BA’99
Founder/executive producer, Big Teeth Productions
Max Lancaster, BS’16
Producer, ArtCraft Entertainment
Austin, Texas
Jamie Luke, BAJ'96
Content director, Meredith Corp.
New York City
Deva Newman, BA’90
Senior vice president, Brand Creative Group
VH1/MTV Studios (Viacom) 
New York City

Dan Overleese, BA'79
Founder, Overleese & Associates
Orlando, Florida
Thom Patterson, BA'87
Staff reporter, Flying Magazine
Emma Rausch, BAJ'14
Animation resourcing coordinator, Rooster Teeth Animation; producer, FarBridge
Austin, Texas
Tania Tawil, BA’96
Vice president of client services, Kobie Marketing 
Tampa Bay, Florida 
Morgan Taylor, BAJ’13
Associate director, Zenith
Nik Traxler, BA'07
Head of production, The Distillery Project
Los Angeles
Aaricka Washington, BAJ'14
Education reporter, Chalkbeat Indiana
Alicia Webb, BAJ’04
Head of Corporate Communications, Generation Bio

Learn more about the alumni association