Distinguished Alumni Awards

The Indiana University Media School Distinguished Alumni Award honors former students who have become leaders in journalism and other media after majoring in journalism, radio/TV, telecommunications, film and related fields through the school or its predecessors.

Those who took significant coursework in the Media School or its predecessors also are eligible, along with alumni who served prominent roles for IU student media.

Our 2016 recipients: 

  • Kenneth A. Beckley, BS’62 (Radio/TV)
    Broadcaster; Marketing Executive; CEO, Indiana University Alumni Association (retired)
  • Bonnie J. Brownlee, BA’72, MA’75 (Journalism)
    Associate Professor Emerita, Indiana University School of Journalism
  • Eric Deggans, BA’90 (Journalism)
    Author;  TV critic, NPR
  • Andy Hall, BA’82 (Journalism)
    Founder/Executive Director, Wisconsin Center for Investigative Journalism
  • Bob Shanks, BS’54 (Radio/TV)
    Vice President, ABC Programming (retired)


To nominate someone for the 2017 Distinguished Alumni Award, please submit a letter of nomination and bio of the person you are nominating to Emily Harrison, emrharri@indiana.edu, by Feb. 15, 2017.


Previous recipients