Cohort Programs

Ernie Pyle Scholars

Ernie Pyle Scholars are honors students pursuing a major in journalism.

Learn about the Ernie Pyle Scholars program

Media Scholars

Media Scholars are honors students pursuing a major in media or game design.

Learn about the Media Scholars program
Alexandra Hitchcock

The Ernie Pyle Scholars program has opened countless doors for me in and out of the classroom.

Alexandra Hitchcock, BAJ'18

How to apply

The first step is to apply for admission to Indiana University by Nov. 1 and indicate your interest in journalism, media or game design.

Once admitted, top students will be invited to complete IU’s Selective Scholarship Application. In previous years, students invited to complete the SSA have had SAT scores upward of 1280 and ACT scores of at least 27, and GPAs of 3.6 or higher.

Once you complete your SSA, you will be considered for admission to one of The Media School’s honors programs.


If you were not invited to complete the SSA but believe you would be a strong candidate for a cohort honors program, you may request to submit a petition for consideration. The deadline is Jan. 10.

Submit a petition


Contact honors program director Nicole Martins.