Alumni: 1990s

Staying in touch with old friends and professors also is a way to stay in touch with The Media School. Check out these Class Notes by era.


Doug Haddix, MA’90, has been named executive director of Investigative Reporters and Editors, a nonprofit organization dedicated to improving the quality of investigative reporting. Haddix, director of the Kiplinger Program in Public Affairs Journalism at Ohio State University, previously was a training director for the organization. In his new position, he will oversee all of IRE’s programs. (December 2016)

Lynne Klyde-Silverstein, BA’91, is an associate professor of journalism in the University of Northern Colorado’s Journalism and Mass Communications program. She has worked as a reporter and editor for the Connecticut Post in Bridgeport and the Herald-Sun in Durham, North Carolina. She has a master’s in journalism and mass communication from University of North Carolina and a Ph.D. in journalism from Ohio University. (March 2016)

Raju Narisetti, MA‘91, has been named CEO of Gizmodo Media Group, a unit within Univision Communications. As CEO, he will manage all business and editorial operations for the group, including brands Jezebel, Deadspin and Lifehacker. Previously, Narisetti was senior vice president of strategy at News Corp., managing editor of The Wall Street Journal’s Digital Network and managing editor of the Washington Post. (September 2016)

Brad Wolverton, BAJ’92, has received the Drake Group’s inaugural Drake Hero award for his reporting on collegiate athletics for the Chronicle of Higher Education. The Drake Group is an organization that aims to defend academic integrity in higher education. The award honors an individual who has helped advance the collegiate sports reform movement. (April 2017)

George Hanlin, BA’93, MPA’01, is director of grants at Indiana Humanities. He previously edited award-winning books and periodicals at FlashPoint and the Indiana Historical Society. (August 2016)

After earning a master’s of science degree in human factors in information design from Bentley University, Anne Mamaghani, BAJ’96, worked in several positions in Web usability in Boston and Silicon Valley. She currently is the senior manager for user experience research and human factors at eBay Inc. She has served as a customer insights researcher for Yahoo. While at IU, Mamaghani studied journalism and women’s studies. (December 2015)

Leslie Leasure, BA’93, MFA’04, was ordained by the United Church of Christ in October. Leasure is the program director for the Ignite Institute, which provides spiritually based training for leaders working in social transformation such as economic and racial justice. She also created the Into the Wilderness spiritual community and blogs for both organizations. She lives in Berkeley, California. (March 2016)

Richard Culp, BAJ’94, MEd’00, is an educational specialist in staff development and training for Fairfax County (Virginia) Public Schools. He has managed the Great Beginnings new teacher induction program for the school system for the last 10 years. The county hires more than 1,500 new teachers each year, and Culp works closely with 200 schools and centers, the Virginia Department of Education and business partners to make the new teachers’ transition smooth and positive. (April 2017)

Lori Keekley, BAJ’95, is the 2016 Dow Jones News Fund National High School Journalism Teacher of the Year. She will receive recognition at the JEA/NSPA Fall National High School Journalism Convention this fall. Keekley is an English and journalism teacher at St. Louis Park High School in Minnesota. She was editor of the 1994 Arbutus and copy chief of the Indiana Daily Student in her time at IU. (September 2016)

Ken Bikoff, BAJ’97, is a communications specialist at the IU School of Informatics and Computing, as well as media director at Bikoff also hosts a post-game call-in show for IU football and provides news and analysis about IU athletics. (April 2017)

Kristen Desmond LeFevre, BAJ’97, is associate editor of The Key, official magazine of the Kappa Kappa Gamma sorority. The award-winning publication has been in continuous existence since 1882. In addition to her position at The Key, LeFevre continues to work as a freelance writer and editor, frequently contributing to magazines including Gold Coast Magazine, Boca Life, Jupiter Magazine, the Palm Beacher and Palm Beach Illustrated. (February 2017)

Nanci Healy, BAJ’97, is the assistant director of student affairs at New York University. Before taking this position in 2015, Healy was the business manager for the university. (March 2016)

Rebecca M. Townsend, MA’97, is a professor and chair of the Department of Communications and Humanities at Manchester Community College in Longmeadow, Massachusetts. In 2012, she was awarded a $77,000 Federal Transit Administration Grant to conduct research into culturally sensitive deliberation during transit planning as part of the Public Transportation Participation Pilot Program. (December 2015)

Ron Whitworth, BAJ’97, is chief privacy officer of SunTrust in Atlanta. He previously served in the same role at EverBank in Jacksonville, Florida. In addition to his duties as CPO, Whitworth manages SunTrust’s compliance teams for human resources, marketing and information security. (February 2017)

Paul Hoover, BA’98, is a banking recruiter for MSI International in Atlanta, Georgia. Before taking this position, Hoover was the assistant director of admissions at the Art Institute of Atlanta. (December 2015)

Chris Stolle, BAJ’98, has worked as a development editor with Alpha Books and DK Books, divisions of Penguin Random House, in Indianapolis since October 2015. He has started to explore the business of acquiring books. (April 2017)

Rachael Bosley, MA’99, is a freelance editor and writer in New Jersey. Her feature on AMC’s Better Call Saul will be published in American Cinematographer’s July 2017 issue. (April 2017)

Sarah Nichols, BAJ’99, teaches journalism, photojournalism, mass media and publications at Whitney High School in Rocklin, California. This year, she was honored as the Journalism Education Association’s Carl Towley Award recipient at the Journalism Educators Association and National Scholastic Press Association’s fall national convention. This award is the JEA’s highest honor. Nichols developed an online journalism curriculum available to JEA members. (December 2015)

Sheila Schroeder, PhD’99, is an associate professor at the University of Denver. Schroeder started Project DU F.I.L.M., an initiative that pairs existing University of Denver Film Studies and Production students with professional alumni mentors. Schroeder led a team to complete the award-winning film Happy F-ing Valentine’s Day. Maya Ferrario, BA’15, served on the team as on-set sound recordist. The short film, which Schroeder co-wrote and produced, has received two best narrative short film awards and two audience choice awards. (December 2016)

Submit a Class Note:

Tell us about your new book — or your new baby. Submit Class Notes online.

  • Show more like this.
  • Show fewer like this.
  • What is this?
  • Show more like this.
  • Show fewer like this.
  • What is this?
  • Show more like this.
  • Show fewer like this.
  • What is this?