Alumni: 1970s

Staying in touch with old friends and professors also is a way to stay in touch with The Media School. Check out these Class Notes by era.


David Ashenfelter, BS’71, celebrated his first anniversary as public information officer for the U.S. District Court for Eastern Michigan in Detroit, following a 46-year news career at newspapers in Kokomo and Bloomington, Indiana, and Detroit. He won nearly 80 local, state and national newswriting awards over the years, including two Pulitzer Prizes: 1982 Public Service for The Detroit News, and 2009 Local News as part of a six-member reporting team at the Detroit Free Press. He retired from the Free Press in 2012. (October 2017)

Will Norton Jr., MA’71, is a professor and inaugural dean of the Meek School of Journalism and New Media at the University of Mississippi. He was inducted into the Mississippi Press Association Hall of Fame in July 2017. Previously, he was dean of the College of Journalism and Mass Communications at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln. (August 2017)

Richard Gotshall, BA’72, retired from the Daily Journal in Franklin in January. He has been named a torch bearer for the Indiana Bicentennial Torch Relay. (August 2016)

Jim Bright, BA’74, has spent much of the year traveling in his role as Rotary International’s Southern Indiana district governor. At a recent meeting in Bloomington, he was honored with copy of The Century of Service signed by Rotarians and friends in six countries and 10 states. (August 2016)

Eric Hughes, BA’74, lives in Oakland, California, with his wife, Priscilla, near their two grown sons. He is mostly retired after starting and running two software businesses and working for Charles Schwab and Wells Fargo. His passion is in software usability, and he has worked on many projects for financial services and higher education clients. He also plays guitar and has produced three bluegrass and country-rock albums. (February 2017)

Karen Cherie Cogane, BA’76, released her first book, Poodles of Park Avenue, in 2015 with Tate Publishing. She appeared on “Nutmeg TV” on the Studio 411 show, hosted by Larry Dasilva, to discuss the inspiration for her book. Cogane previously was a faculty member at Yeshiva University, teaching ballet and jazz dance for 22 years. (September 2016)

Donald Winslow, ’76, has been named to the National Press Photographers Foundation board of directors. Winslow is managing editor of content for the Amarillo Globe-News and AGN Media in Amarillo, Texas. He previously served as the editor of News Photographer magazine for the National Press Photographers Association for 13 years. (March 2017)

William (Bill) Gilmer, BA’77, retired from WPHM AM 1380. He served as news director and broadcaster. (August 2017)

Michael Greenspon, BA’77, is a production supervisor and 12:05AM Productions, which produces Jimmy Kimmel Live. He has produced numerous other movies and television series, including Who’s the Boss? and Married with Children. (October 2017)

Patricia Gibson, BA’79, is associate administrator for the Office of Communications and Public Liaison of the U.S. Small Business Administration. As associate administrator, Gibson will develop and execute the SBA’s communication strategy, including a new marketing plan to improve how the agency communicates with stakeholders. (August 2017)

Kent Lowry, BA’79, retired from the Milwaukee Journal Sentinel after 35 years at the company, the last 20 of them as the editor for national and international news. (March 2017)

Tara (Carroll) McKee, BS’79, is a sales manager at WMAQ-TV in Chicago. (January 2017)

Jeffrey Molter, BAJ’79, is director of communications at the Laura and Isaac Perlmutter Cancer Center at New York University Langone Medical Center. He previously served as director of media and public relations at the American Association for Cancer Research in Philadelphia. Molter has received awards from many peer organizations, including the Association of American Medical Colleges, the Public Relations Society of America, the International Association of Business Communicators, PR Week, the Publicity Club of Chicago and PR News. (August 2017)

Submit a Class Note:

Tell us about your new book — or your new baby. Submit Class Notes online.

  • Show more like this.
  • Show fewer like this.
  • What is this?
  • Show more like this.
  • Show fewer like this.
  • What is this?