Student work honored at regional SPJ

The Media School Report • April 18, 2017

Media School students were among those recognized for their work at the Society of Professional Journalists’ Region 5 conference April 7 in Indianapolis. 

Region 5 includes SPJ chapters in Indiana, Illinois and Kentucky, and honors the best work at the collegiate level with its Mark of Excellence awards at its spring conference.   

Assistant professor Gerry Lanosga’s spring 2016 J460 Investigative Reporting class won first place in online news reporting for their project, “Billion Dollar Story.” The series of stories examines 16 years of campaign finance reports for Indiana state political offices. 

The news package was picked up by several news organizations in the Midwest.  

Students in the class were Noah Deitchley, Lindsay Moore, Mary Jamerson, Connor Faul, Emily Koval, Sarah Panfil, Leah Carter, James Benedict, Madison Hogan, Paige Ferguson, Kendall Gilbert, Anne Halliwell, Katherine MacDonell, David Pecar, David Wood, Xuan Li and Shakara Williams.  

Also, junior Ellen Glover and Alison Chaplin, BAJ’16, were finalists in the non-fiction magazine article category for Where the Path May Lead.” Their in-depth story looked at the Muslim community in Columbus, Indiana, and was published in last fall’s issue of 812 The Magazine off Southern Indiana. The magazine is published each semester by students in senior lecturer Nancy Comiskey’s J481 Creating an Indiana Magazine.  

Mark of Excellence winners go on to compete at the national level and are honored at SPJ’s conference in the fall.