Nominate your best journalism professor for Kemp teaching award

The Media School Report • Oct. 3, 2018

Has a journalism professor made a big impact on your collegiate life? Nominate him or her for The Media School’s Gretchen A. Kemp Teaching Award.

Named for the late Gretchen A. Kemp, who taught at the school from 1948-74, the annual award recognizes excellence in teaching.

An effective teacher is one who:

  • Motivates students to be excited about the subject matter and to do excellent work (including student projects, theses and dissertations);
  • Is committed to rigorous standards of instruction and evaluation;
  • Is current in the latest developments in the subjects he or she teaches.

All full-time journalism faculty members are eligible, with a few exceptions. Visiting professors, adjunct instructors and associate instructors are not eligible, nor are the three most recently named Kemp fellows: Kelley French (2018), Joe Coleman (2017) and Thomas French (2016).

Faculty who are eligible:

Nick BrowningGerry LanosgaRadhika Parameswaran
Suzannah Evans ComfortBonnie LaytonJason Peifer
Mike ConwaySteve LaytonAnne Ryder
Tony FargoJae Kook LeeMelanie Sargent
Dave GroobertShannon MartinTeresa White
Minjeong KangEmily MetzgarCraig Wood
Jim KellyJennifer MidberrySung Un Yang 
Danielle KilgoElaine Monaghan  

Use this form to nominate a journalism professor from The Media School. The deadline is Nov. 5.