Media School announces two new cohorts of honors students

The Media School Report • May 22, 2018
The Media School: Press Release
Contact: Anne Kibbler
Director of Communications
and Media Relations
The Media School

For immediate release:

May 23, 2018

BLOOMINGTON, Indiana — The Media School at Indiana University in Bloomington is pleased to announce two new cohorts of honors students who will enroll at the school this fall.

Fifteen Ernie Pyle Scholars will pursue a bachelor of arts in journalism, while 17 Media Scholars will pursue either a bachelor of arts in media or a bachelor of science in game design.

The Class of 2022 marks the 12th year for the Ernie Pyle Scholars, whose alumni work at some of the country’s leading journalism, public relations and other media organizations.

The remaining students form the first class of Media Scholars, a new program created to offer expanded academic and professional opportunities to students pursuing studies focused on media in all its forms, including advertising, film, communication science and game design.

“We are delighted to welcome such an impressive group of promising young honors students to the Media School for fall 2018,” said Media School dean James Shanahan. “These new Ernie Pyle Scholars will build on the impressive reputation of that well-regarded program. And we know that this inaugural cohort of Media Scholars will help establish a strong foundation for the future of that new program. We are eager to support all these impressive young people in the many successes that no doubt lie ahead during their time at Indiana University.”

Students selected for the  Ernie Pyle Scholars or Media Scholars honors programs are directly admitted into their major in The Media School and are eligible to enroll in up to six special honors courses. They travel as a group locally, nationally and internationally with their faculty mentor, who advises them during their four years at The Media School.

The mentors for the Class of 2022 scholars are Dave Groobert, Ernie Pyle Scholars, and Susan Kelly, Media Scholars.

Ernie Pyle Scholars Class of 2022

  • Joseph Bowling (Floyd Central High School, Floyds Knobs, Indiana)
  • Andrew Cortopassi (Zionsville Community High School, Zionsville, Indiana)
  • Luke Cunningham (Lyons Township High School, La Grange, Illinois)
  • Lauren Fischer (Blue Valley Northwest High School, Overland Park, Kansas)
  • Shelby Fletcher (Mitchell High School, Mitchell, Indiana)
  • Alexandra Hardgrave (Castle High School, Newburgh, Indiana)
  • Sara Kress (Cathedral High School, Indianapolis, Indiana)
  • Allison Lincoln (Floyd Central High School, Floyds Knobs, Indiana)
  • Allison Melnik (Upper Arlington High School, Upper Arlington, Ohio)
  • Allison Osborne (Hamilton Heights High School, Arcadia, Indiana)
  • Danielle Osborne (Tri West Hendricks High School, Lizton, Indiana)
  • Madison Smalstig (Yorktown High School, Yorktown, Indiana)
  • Alexander Smith (Bloomington High School North, Bloomington, Indiana)
  • Jillian Waslawski (Saint Charles North High School, St. Charles, Illinois)
  • Grace Ybarra (The International School of Indiana, Indianapolis, Indiana)

Media Scholars Class of 2022

  • Simon Barker (Aliso Niguel High School, Aliso Viejo, California)
  • Zachary Berger (Sycamore High School, Cincinnati, Ohio)
  • Mitchell Black (Center Grove High School, Greenwood, Indiana)
  • Jordan Burger (Floyd Central High School, Floyds Knob, Indiana)
  • Matthew Cohen (Bethesda Chevy Chase High School, Bethesda, Maryland)
  • Mallorey Daunhauer (Bloomington High School South, Bloomington, Indiana)
  • Marie Gryl (Loyola Academy, Wilmette, Illinois)
  • Mallory Keenoy (Okemos High School, Okemos, Michigan)
  • Spencer Lawson (Hamilton Southeastern High School, Fishers, Indiana)
  • Margaret Lock (Wheeler High School, Marietta, Georgia)
  • Scott Lyons of Munster, Indiana (Marian Catholic High School, Chicago Heights, Illinois)
  • Gordon McNulty (Herron High School, Indianapolis, Indiana)
  • Genevieve Moran (Chesterton High School, Chesterton, Indiana)
  • Hailey Newman (Emery Weiner High School, Houston, Texas)
  • David Schrader (Roncalli High School, Indianapolis, Indiana)
  • Ava Steensland (Santa Margarita Catholic High School, Rancho Santa Margarita, California)
  • Jackson Yeary (Carmel High School, Carmel, Indiana)