Guskey wins Hearst sports writing competition

The Media School Report • March 29, 2017

Junior Jordan Guskey is the winner of the 57th annual William Randolph Hearst Foundation’s Journalism Awards Program’s college sports writing competition, the organization announced Tuesday.

Guskey will receive a $2,600 scholarship for his article “Handling of Nick Carovillano’s injury at the basis of Kevin Wilson’s eventual resignation” published in the Indiana Daily Student. His story was first out of 119 sports writing entries received from 69 schools in this competition.

The school receives a matching grant and, as a first place winner, Guskey earns an automatic invitation to the program’s national finals in May.

Indiana University also remains first in the program’s Intercollegiate Writing Competition with the highest accumulated student points in the three out of five writing competitions held this year.

Earlier this year, Media School sophomores Laurel Demkovich and Sarah Gardner have placed third and fourth, respectively, in the feature writing contest, and junior Taylor Telford took second place and senior Hannah Alani took fifth place in the college enterprise reporting contest.

The Hearst program consists of 14 monthly competitions, including five in the Intercollegiate Writing Competition, two photojournalism, one radio, two TV and four multimedia categories, with championship finals in all divisions.

Students submit their previously published work for the contests. Students from 106 undergraduate journalism programs at universities across the nation are eligible to participate.

The Media School students have had success in past Hearst contests. Seven IU students competed in the finals last June, and Alden Woods, BAJ’16, won first prize.

The Hearst Journalism Awards Program is conducted under the auspices of accredited schools of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication, and is fully funded and administered by the William Randolph Hearst Foundation.