Alumni board welcomes 3 new members

The Media School Report • July 11, 2018

Three alumni with careers in television news, photojournalism and marketing have joined The Media School Alumni Association.

The new members are:

Michele DeSelms, BA’89

Michele DeSelms recently retired after a 25-year career as a television news anchor. 

After graduating from IU with a degree in telecommunications, her first job was in radio in Lexington, Kentucky, before she moved to Rockford, Illinois, to start a career in TV. She worked at stations in Columbus, Ohio, and Grand Rapids, Michigan. She is now a freelance television host/voiceover talent and creator of the online video series, Ready to Run.

She lives in Grand Rapids with her family.

Zach Dobson, BAJ’04

Zach Dobson is a full-time freelance photojournalist based in Carmel, Indiana.

He holds a degree in journalism from IU with a concentration in photography. Since starting his business in 2006, Dobson has focused on documenting people’s lives and businesses in action. His client list includes Coca-Cola, the AARP, ZipCar, IU, Visit Bloomington, Hamilton County Tourism and the Indiana High School Athletic Association.

He lives in Carmel with his wife and business partner, Courtney, and their four children.  

Tania Tawil, BA’96

Tania Tawil is vice president of partner development for Vibes, a global mobile marketing and technology company based in Chicago.

She holds an IU degree in telecommunications and French. At Vibes, she runs the Strategic Alliances team to help partners elevate their mobile strategy. In previous management roles at Vibes, Tawil launched and grew a media vertical to more than 300 clients and helped Fortune 100 retailers successfully enter the mobile ecosystem. Prior to Vibes, Tawil spent 11 years with new and established cable networks in Chicago and Philadelphia.

Tawil is events chair for the Lyric Young Professionals Board of the Lyric Opera of Chicago. She lives in Chicago with her husband and is an avid skier, scuba diver and world traveler.     

Board members serve three-year terms.